The Fledgling Crafter

Adventures of a struggling crafster.

De-Stash Time

on April 15, 2012

In what I am hoping is to be the first of many posts about de-stashing, I am proud to say I finally went through a lot of my fabric. I have been handed down a lot, but there is only so much time, and only so many things I can do with it. I am still way to new a quilter to see a vision for it. Also, I have to make room for that Star Wars fabric 🙂 This is what I have packed and ready next to the front door…

The boxes are filled with just cotton fabric. The bags contain fleece and flannels. So here is where I need help – what do I do with it? I just want it gone. Do I contact a guild? Goodwill? Post on Craigslist? Anyone out there have any ideas? Anyone living in the East Bay (Northern California) want some free fabric? Please let me know!

**UPDATE**

Someone has graciously accepted to take this off my hands. Thanks again for the help!


5 responses to “De-Stash Time

  1. Terri says:

    Call Project Linus. They make quilts for kids in stressful situations… Our local chapter sends all to Goodwill, where we can buy it inexpensively, and no one of us has to store it all. (If gas were cheaper, I’d come to get it from Folsom, CA.
    Hugs!

  2. Marilyn says:

    I’m in Vacaville, Ca. Are you close enough? I’m the area coordinator for BInky Patrol. We make quilts for kids in crisis. We go through about 500 yards a month , especially in the summer! We have a big group of ladies who love to quilt and we get together for sewing days and also work at home. Last year for the Japan tsunami efforts, we made over 400 quilts in about 3 months and then collected more to send over 1,100 quilts to Japan. It was an insane project! You can check out my blog http://northhillsquilter.blogspot.com and also binkypatrol.org to see if there are any groups closer to you. We would love to have you join us for a sewing day if you live close enough. We have a lot of fun (and eat a lot of food too!)

  3. Laura Long says:

    Very nice and glad its going to good use! 🙂

Leave a comment